Poets logo

Can’t Sleep

R.I.P to the legends lost yesterday

By K. ExumPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Can’t sleep

Why do I feel pain for you?

If I never saw you in person

Why do I feel like I lost a friend even though we never met

Sometimes I wish there was no such thing as death

When I close my eyes I can just imagine those final seconds

It’s a sight I don’t want to see or experience

It’s easy to remember your greatness

But it’s hard to think about your legacy without you

Why do I feel pain for her?

If I never met the kid

I just feel so sick

Because I know that kid had a bright future ahead

A future we all take for granted

Just because it’s not up to our imaginary standards

If yesterday isn’t proof that life can change in an instance then I don’t know what to tell you

I just hope all of you can rest after this

Maybe after this, I can rest too

It’s up to the lord if he’ll let me sleep tonight

Until then I’m just up because I can’t sleep

I want to close my eyes and count sheep

But I can’t because I just wish yesterday never happened

I wish the world didn’t have this pain to experience

It’s a lot to wish for

I just hope we all can get some sleep tonight

I just hope we can start to enjoy every second we have with each other

You never know how much time you have left

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

K. Exum

Blogger, Poet, and Author from Landover, Maryland. Author of The Story Of Charles Levi on Amazon. Multiple spoken word singles and a project on streaming platforms. Check out my blog www.piecesofk.blog Follow my IG & X @thtstonedpoet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.