Poets logo

Can I Hold On

Bantering thoughts

By Valerie GesslerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Has it been ten years or a thousand? I’ve lost all track of time.

You are my time. You are my life. If I’ve lost you, what do I have?

Never, I said never would I let you go. But I was wrong.

I am not strong, You are strong. You hang on. I need your strength.

Countless times you built me up and I as strong.

And countless times I congratulated myself on my accomplishment.

Ha. my accomplishments....

If it was mine, then why did it all come crashing down the moment I let you go?

I can’t make it snow, I can’t make it rain. Yet I think I can all the same.

A glass house was all that came from the shame and darkness I obtained.

And when that house became rubble, it was then that I started to stumble right back into your arms.

You never let go....I did. You said you wouldn’t leave, but I could jump. Jump I did, it was my very great sin.

But I’m back now, and here to stay. Invited in where I know I’m safe.

I turned the key and open the door to the only place I could restore.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Valerie Gessler

I’m Valerie Gessler,

I love to write stories that I pray will come alive as you read them. That you can put yourself in the characters place, and feel and experience the same breakthrough. I write from the heart. I hope you enjoy them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.