Poets logo

Can I Come Home?

Arduous Yearning

By Liz WallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Can I Come Home?
Photo by Tomasz Pawluk on Unsplash

I was once at home

In myself

In my loved one’s embrace

But life did not want that for me

Both in my dark past

And Many times over the years

I would be evicted

From my mind

From the bright, fierce spirit

And be without that inner home

No space to rest

No space at all

To be myself

To accept myself

Forever forced

To seek a home entirely alone

But now after much time has passed

After my mind starts to regain

Some semblance of centre

Sun

Light

Reflects

The pieces of me

That were shattered and out of reach

I’m starting to move back

To that space in my head and heart

Moving things and memories around

As words flow from my inner recess

There’s starting to be a place within

No longer a prison

I can feel at home

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Liz Wall

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.