Poets logo

Call of the Moon

By Erika Ravnsborg

By Erika RavnsborgPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Call of the Moon
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Sleep calls as I lay my head down

The world seems quiet, and still

But suddenly, I no longer feel alone

The mother moon shines bright

to my eyes, pop open looking out

at the dark night.

It's in my lungs, dying to get out

She whispers my name

an image of her makes me shiver with doubt.

I'm not me, This can't be me

I'm in the woods running,

with no inhibitions, only bloodless glee.

I sniff the air to find it pungent

My prey before me and I give chase

I catch it when it's leg gets bent.

My teeth are sharp and belly empty

I taste each wound and muscle

Blood, meat, and bone aplenty.

I am nourished only for a small time

I will be back,

The hunt is always mine.

What will I devour next I wonder?

In the morning, my eyes flutter open

Did I just have a dream or was I really in the forest yonder?

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Erika Ravnsborg

Erika Ravnsborg is a writer/blogger/adventurer/explorer living in Canada. Her goal is to travel all over the world and write amazing stories about it. Find more of her adventures at https://www.magicalstoriestoshare.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Lovely poem, dreams reflect our unconscious, running free.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.