Poets logo

Call of the Katydids

Pain, Purpose, and Growth

By Evergreen & GreyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

At 23 I forced my birth

In Caracas

With the help of a few friends

Over a year passed and I returned

Thinking I was all grown up

Marriage came as did the kids

My life was never the same

Their birth forced my growth

From infant to teen

I began to drown though I did not know

Protect and provide were my only thoughts

Keep going, keep striving, keep on

Pieces of family broke off one by one

Their lives and mine no longer entwined

I could not accept the past that had happened

Or the present that did not make sense

I went where I could be alone

Where I thought I could protect and provide

And put that horrible past behind me

It's cancer, she said

6,000 miles away

My filial blood burned hot

“What if we stayed?"

I said on a visit back home

“I think that’s a great idea.”

She said and we did

I stayed through the injections

The end of chemo

The beginning of a second wind

"I don't think I love you anymore"

He said over a Caramel Macchiato

Nothing I said would mend

What had apparently been broken

For years

I was the last to know

This was not supposed to be a chapter

I did not intend this to be written

I morphed into a concentrated puddle of confusion

Friends and family saved me, saved the kids

Through devastation and dissolution

I forced another birth

Into the woman I am

With so much growth to do

The four of us now with the two of them

Light both dawns and dims

In our home

This is where

I come full circle

With who I was, am, and intend to be

Home is where I can finish my growth

As the Katydids call my name

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Evergreen & Grey

Humorous inspiration, advice, and entertainment for your aging body and mind.

www.evergreenandgrey.substack.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.