Poets logo

Call dropped

*note to self* you’re not asking for too much.

By Wendoly velazquezPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Call dropped
Photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

You call me but im not to sure you want to talk

Maybe you have words but truly no thoughts

Your two and my two don’t equal four

Different languages sounds like static over the phone

Trying to give you the benefit of the doubt

But truly longing fate

“This isnt going to workout” and “im not looking to date”.

“Im doing too much” but frankly you're not doing enough

Superficial conversations and I can't get in touch.

Two different worlds and im not knocking your way

But when my buds sprout you’re still withering and now its May

Time is passing and I feel like now you're in my way

I'm trying to hang up the phone but there’s the “hold on wait!”

Wait for what? You don't care to change…

You just want me to call you and say “we’re on the same page…”

Sorry (not sorry) my boundaries are going to stay

Choosing me before you isn’t selfish

My time is just of the essence

Your fragrance is suffocating and now I need back my space

Asking how did I even let it get this far in the first place

You can be a good person but I want to be great

Not feeding my ego but I wont always fit on one plate

No you cant eat a snack and save me for dinner

I need one with a big appetite cause we feeding the outer AND INNER

My heart speaks to ears that dont selectively hear

“But hey let me call you later…” spurts up some fear

My mind tells me “No more California rolls, girl, make a full stop!”

“Hey im going through a tunnel…”

Beep beep beep

*Call dropped*

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Wendoly velazquez

Emotions into literature is a gift that keeps on giving. Creating something so endless and enlightening that it can’t help but captivate your spirit. All from the experience and authenticity of my life and imagination. God bless🤍

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Desiray J2 months ago

    loveee this and the ending was beautifully done— very strong piece!!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Wow, some unique and telling lines: Wait for what? You don't care to change… Choosing me before you isn’t selfish You just want me to call you and say “we’re on the same page…” No you cant eat a snack and save me for dinner Great job!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.