Poets logo

Calista

Confusing Fear for Love

By S.D. TrinityPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Undoubtedly, we never would have worked.

You liked girls you could control.

It probably pissed you off when I didn’t let you.

You wanted someone to fuck.

Why you asked me out I will never understand.

On our first date was with your friends.

A double date with a fifth wheel tagging along.

I might as well had not been there.

The scary movie was mediocre at best.

The only thing you cared about was the other couple.

Afterwards, we walked to a restaurant.

You left with your friends.

I walked most of the way with the fifth wheel.

We sat at a table in the corner.

You slapped your best friend in the face.

We never really had a second date.

You and me were still girlfriends.

Holding hands in the hallways.

You ignoring me in the morning.

I thought you were playing.

Everyone thought we were the best match.

They didn’t see you getting more, and more distant.

No one heard how uninterested you were when I’d speak.

Classmates didn’t know I felt uncomfortable around you.

We were nowhere near the best match.

Two weeks before we broke up we had a fight.

I now think you wanted to break up then but didn’t have the heart.

You said I needed to work on making friends easier.

The argument lasted the whole day and I never got an explanation.

The day we broke up I had dressed up for you.

At your bus you told me you wanted to break up.

That we could try again in the summer.

You broke up with me for no reason.

Then told me to smile.

I don’t know if you knew this, but I was scared of you.

Slapping your best friend on our first date didn't set a good standard.

I was scared you were going to make me have sex with you.

You were violent towards the people you claimed to care about.

I didn’t love you, I was scared shitless of you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

S.D. Trinity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.