Poets logo

Calinemiliztli

Home is life.

By Veronica BoykinPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Home is a collective.

A state of mind.

Home is a memory on repeat.

Home is within me.

It’s an emotion.

A sense or feeling your body has felt a thousand times before.

No matter how many millenniums pass it is something No Human can completely understand or define.

It's a feeling of falling and failing.

My fathers gentle hand to wipe my tears.

The determination to get back up and try again.

It's the assurance of support when plans go awry.

The sonorous sound of a cold Coke being opened and poured into a tall glass of ice at 3 am.

The carbonation whispering to me like a soothing children’s melody.

Home is the knowledge I have following that song to my father before my eyes Can confirm he is sitting on that Couch.

It's the illumination in the dark from the news playing on the television in the background.

Home is bonding over our late night activities.

Solving Puzzles and reading while dealing with our shared insomnia.

It's the long car rides and yearly roadtrips.

Always on the hunt for new adventures and places to explore.

Home is dritting into slumber in the back seat along the way.

It's the gentle embrace as I am carried in.

The warmth and calm that’s felt from being held close to my mother’s heart.

It's the freedom felt from the abscense of responsibility to make any major life decision.

Going along with Opportunities blown my way.

Home is the trust in those wiser to make those decisions while I frolick in blissful ignorance.

It's the emersion into life and culture that has been passed down through the blood of my people.

Home is my Ancestors.

It's my family.

Home is the connection that bonds me to other beings in this realm.

Home is love.

Home is serenity.

Home is safety.

Home is living.

For as long as my memory keeps or the memory of me survives.

Home is me.

Forever evolving.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Veronica Boykin

Veronica Boykin is a Mexican American from Texas who has been writing for 20 years. She is best known for her QR work under the alias Coco Roco. She has experience in multiple fiction genre as well as multi platforms and writing technique.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.