Poets logo

CALIFORNIA GOLD AND JOHNNY REB

Part 2

By Marty WestPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

CALIFORNIA GOLD AND JOHNNY REB

PART 2

So now we’ve made it we’re back in Tennessee

Don’t have to run anymore I’m in the land of the free

Heard the president was sending boys called the yanks

To take over our land and the money from our banks

Now you don’t mess with the boys of the south

Because we’ve been taught not to run our mouths

So if you want a fight just make your way here

These Johnny Reb boys will show you no fear

I signed up for the 1st calvary just for a little while

Now I’ve got my uniform and my girl gives me a smile

A place called Shiloh dead soldiers every where

Bullets flying all around but we don’t seem to care

Captain said we had to go keep our on with the attack

Then I felt the heat and pain from a bullet in my back

Just tell my momma and girl I went down in a fight

Because they said I wouldn’t make it through the night

Marty West

vintage
1

About the Creator

Marty West

Happily Married 58 years old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.