Poets logo

CALIFORNIA GOLD AND JOHNNY REB

Part 1

By Marty WestPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

California gold and Johnny reb

I left my home in Tennessee to find some California gold

Gonna strike it rich and find the mother lode

After six long months on a dusty and lonesome trail

After all of this ain’t no way I’m gonna fail

Gonna find me a river gonna stake me a claim

Yes it’s true I’m after gold,fortune and fame

All I’ve got is my mining tools and food in my pack

And when I find a big nugget I’ll throw the little ones back

And all night long when I’m trying to get some rest

Hear gunfire someone trying to prove who’s the best

Found me a girl she’s as sweet as she can be

Don’t have eyes for nobody else eyes just for me

One night a drunk cowboy tried to make her his own

The way he touched her chilled me to the bone

Our guns started blazing my bullet hit his heart

Noe I’m in a cell wishing I could make a new start

The judge said guilty the gavel came down with a bang

And I’ll stand in this courthouse watch you as you hang

But my girl had other plans as she pulled out her gun

Now we’re going back to Tennessee as fast as our horse can run

Marty West

vintage
1

About the Creator

Marty West

Happily Married 58 years old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.