Poets logo

Caged Heart

I Will Protect You

By Aaliyah BaezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

My chest is sore from my raging heart trying to break free.

Banging against the rib cage that protects her.

She's been used, beaten and broken numerous times.

She lost so many loved ones and loved the wrong ones.

She doesn't understand that I want to protect her.

One more break, she will die.

She's aching to love.

That's what she does best.

Loves no matter how broken she is.

She will love with all she has left.

I can't bare to see her torn apart.

I can't bare to hear her cry.

Sweet heart, let me protect you.

You need to rest and build your strength up.

So you can love the right one and never stop loving.

I will protect you forever.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Aaliyah Baez

Just a woman who walked through a fire, and came out stronger than ever!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.