Poets logo

Caged

#VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

My buzzing alarm clock blares, disrupting peaceful misty dreams once again.

I snap my arm up and out from underneath the fluffy sea of sheets and shut it off before its shrieking can deafen me.

As I lay there, warm, cozy, and stiff from a good night's sleep; the same question I ask myself every day begins to pull at my mind once more.

Should I get out of bed, it tempts and taunts, and face the world?

Or should I hide within the waves of my sheets?

Why should I get up and take on another day of endless pain and high expectations?

To face all the nagging voices?

The expectations of who I am or who I should cage me in like a helpless bird that cannot spread his spreads and fly.

That helpless bird who I want very much to be right now, at this very moment.

That bird with no worries or cares, who of course I am not, and never can be.

Why can't I be who I want to be?

Who gave them the authority to tell me who I am?

Do this, do that, is all they say.

They pull me from every limb and push every imaginable thing upon me.

Their expectations are so high.

What they want from me is physically impossible.

How many ways can I be pulled?

But not today.

I glare at my backpack sitting across the room, yearning to be lifted up and supported by my meager shoulders.

I look wearily into the face of my alarm clock, squinting as the light excruciatingly penetrates my eyes.

Only five minutes have passed.

I turn it around, pull the covers over my head, and drift back into sleep.

Peaceful sleep.

Sleep without expectations.

Sleep-

The only thing to release and set me free.

Set me free to spread my wings and fly.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.