Poets logo

Buzz

Honey for the soul

By Bekah JimenezPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

A

Bee

Caught my attention

Droning nearby in the

Elephantine sunflowers –

Flowers that joyfully reached

Grandly toward the sky –

Heedless of my pain,

Ignorant that such pain even exists.

Just as I was sinking into my darkness again,

Kisses were on my cheek. The fuzzy, little bee

Lightly walked in circles,

My tears providing him salt water,

Not the sweet nectar he was used to.

Opening my palm, I tried to encourage him to

Pass over to my hand.

Quickly, he scurried out of my gargantuan fingers,

Racing from what he thought was certain death.

“Silly thing,” I thought, smiling for the first time in days.

There was something so special for me in these moments.

Up until now, I had felt nothing would be special again.

Velvet padded across the bridge of my nose.

Waiting for him to move, I tried desperately not to sneeze.

X marked the spot for him and he settled to rest in my dimple.

Yawns must be repressed, as must sighs and tears, or he will

Zip into space and leave me alone, like … what’s his name?

nature poetryheartbreakFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Bekah Jimenez

I love writing. I've been writing since I learned how. I'm currently working on three novels - two fantasies and a psychological thriller. I can't wait to find a publisher!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    This was touching. Nice development of an interesting narrative!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.