Poets logo

Butterfly Pea Flowers Paint My Mouth Blue

So What Paints the Sky?

By Andrea LawrencePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Butterfly pea tea in a flask | Source: iStock, KarinaUrmantseva

Bossa Nova. An aurora borealis in the sky.

Magnolia soup streaming out my mouth.

The hawthorns between my teeth with

all the string theory knotting together. YELLOW.

My YELLOW cat eyes searching for some Alice.

Sensations trickle with kinesthetic crinkles

as the LILAC-infused and encrusted bubbles

wander and wander and wander into the NEON GREEN

lights that shimmer and shake and wave above

this little wooden raft, this little raft buzzing

along the Alaskan shore with its snowy score.

Magnolia soup dripping out my mouth: butterfly

pea flowers paint my mouth BLUE. So what

paints the sky?

.

Could I have a stick of bubble gum,

the metamorphosis gum? I want some

as we shatter into a million pieces, when we die

shimmering, shimmering

with creative ecstasy. Drain it down with a cup

of pine mushroom tea. Let the cold enter my veins:

hypothermia to stitch me together. Little crystals

snow in the hinterland. I started walking. No chemical

to keep me contained. BLACK the sky, BLACK

the canvas for the Bossa Nova aurora borealis.

.

Did you know, did you know Lucifer

was the light-bringer, one of the two names

for Venus? That people thought Venus was

two stars? Phosphoros (light-bringer) and

Heosphoros (dawn-bringer), the Greek names.

Lucifer was the fabled son of Aurora.

A name, Lucifer, first in Roman lore.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Andrea Lawrence

Freelance writer. Undergrad in Digital Film and Mass Media. Master's in English Creative Writing. Spent six years working as a journalist. Owns one dog and two cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.