Poets logo

Butterfly Clips

And cul de sac dreams

By Darin LeighPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Snapwire on Pexels

A child is in my dreams tonight.

Something about her seems familiar.

Her features reveal themselves as I step closer, and I’m confronted with a five year old me, with braided hair and butterfly clips galore.

Glitter cakes the surface of her face and flowers are embroidered into her jeans.

She smiles with her eyes in a way that makes it clear that they haven’t yet seen the pain of the world.

I follow her as she wanders down her cul de sac to pet the neighborhood calico cat.

My heart fills at the sight of it.

I reach for her, but she skips away, her laughter carried back to me as an echo in the balmy breeze.

Suddenly, I feel a heat on my cheek and realize it’s liquid seeping from my eyes.

Back in the present, they open with a flash and the girl is gone, but the water stays to remind me of all the ways that life can change.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Darin Leigh

Just the ramblings of an artist in her 20s. I write a lot of unplanned poetry. I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.