Poets logo

Busywork

A Poem

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Busywork
Photo by Dmytro Lopatin on Unsplash

frustration

clutters my mind

as I run out of time

to do what I need to do

and I know the balance of profits and pleasure

is something that must be measured

but it becomes tiring trying to maintain following through

a nice vacation

would improve this situation

but the limited options make for no escape

and though I am motivated

to be committed

I feel like I’m unable to shape

the routine had become easy

and now it is conflicting

a dreary monotony

that lulls me to sleep

sometimes I think

we just need some spontaneity

before our stress gets too deep

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.