Poets logo

Burnished Betrayal

Ekphrastic Poem Inspired By Dorothea Tanning

By DaphsamPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
11
Moeurs Espagnoles by Dorothea Tanning

You shield your

untainted eyes from me?

**

Look what you have done.

**

Ripping me from the glacial ground

when I was just quietly around.

**

My golden olive stem,

once vibrant with ruffled silky petals,

now condemned,

parts of my being

burned into your bronze

exterior of what you

call a dwelling.

**

How dare you think you are

the only one to give new life.

**

Threatened by my treasure

that could have given others pleasure,

**

harmony

hope

happiness

**

Cease that

demon’s fiery glass orb

from doing

your dirty work.

**

You are not

as innocent as

some would believe.

**

There is no room

for me in your world,

I must suffer

from your egotistical consequence.

Image source: https://www.dorotheatanning.org/life-and-work/view/650

slam poetryEkphrasticart
11

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 days ago

    I always felt a bit guilty for picking flowers, too.

  • Novel Allen7 days ago

    I wonder the brute who inspired such ire. Such intensity and rage in this pic and words. Beautiful.

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Very nice, I loved it!😍

  • Oh wow, this was so intense and powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Caroline Craven16 days ago

    Love this one. So raw and powerful.

  • Mark Graham16 days ago

    This has quite an emotional impact.

  • Mariann Carroll16 days ago

    Wow, powerful poem. Love the art painting , the poem fit it well !!!!

  • Wow! Quite the piece of art! Your words are powerful!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.