Poets logo

Burning

A poem

By Lola SensePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
Burning
Photo by Jyrki Nieminen on Unsplash

The sun is burning my face and my ear

And now it’s burning my hand

There’s no philosophy that can capture

A moment of peace in the sun

We simply make use of

An intuition we all possess

From the old world

From the ancients

An understanding that runs through our veins

Written in our mitochondria

Etched in the endoplasmic reticulum of each and every cell of our bodies

Bonheur, fericire, we can all recognize it

And we chase it, but it’s barely prey

You can’t catch it

It’s a magic doe that comes to you

When you chant the right incantation

When you let go of everything and forget your mortality

When consciousness eludes you

When you become fungus

And go back to the basics

To a before Adam and Eve

And the sun keeps burning the side of my face

My cheek

My left earring

Diffracting through my sunglasses

Turning my happiness into a rainbow

A dreamy breath

A data point in the experiment of life

Can’t draw any trustworthy conclusions

So I merengue my way through life

And shed sweatdrops of happiness.

------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading! This story was initially published on Medium in Oct 2021.

If you want more stories like this, please subscribe, like, and share with a friend who might enjoy my work ❤️

Other poems you might like:

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Lola Sense

Poet and writer of steamy stories. If my work tickles you the right way and you want to support me, feel free to buy me a coffee to keep the sexy stories coming!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Gosh this was so deep! Beautifully written!

  • Willow Reed12 months ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.