Poets logo

Burn

I cannot find your heat

By Ashleigh RileyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Min An from Pexels

Once upon a day so cold,

I dreamt of when I would turn old.

Will love still lay upon my heart?

Or will we grow too far apart?

When we were young, and wild, and free,

The future felt like everything.

The love, the house, the kids, the cars,

The whole world was meant to be 'ours.'

But the cars, the kids, the house, that love,

Filled up all our plates, was it just too much?

I cannot find your heat, all I feel is the chill,

Does your flame even burn for us still?

Please don't forget the love we had,

And tell me how to get it back.

I dream of when we both turn old,

And hope your hand's there for mine to hold.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ashleigh Riley

Mother of 2-Writer-Crafter-Dreamer-TV binger-Movie lover-Space nerd-dinosaur connoisseur

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.