Poets logo

Buried Treasure

In search of truth

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
32
Buried Treasure
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Diving to the depths of the deep,

dark ocean to straddle my fears;

I feel heavy, steady water

pressure mingle with frantic tears.

I learn to breathe underwater,

when the mermaid appears shining

blue light, a crystal path revealed

to me, silently sighing. “Oh!”

I gasp as she takes my cold hand

safely, softly in hers to lead the way

through currents, where I cannot stand.

Before me, my blurred vision fades.

She helps me find my idle feet,

surfacing with a solid kick,

washed ashore by the singing waves,

unrelenting in their perfect pitch.

I open my eyes to find me,

supine in the sand, tightly wrapped

in the beautiful bright blue haze,

determined to exist unmasked.

By Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

If you like this piece, please send me a heart from the link below! Thank you for reading.

surreal poetry
32

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Wow this was ethereal I felt as though I were in the water. Beautiful

  • Whoaaa, such vivid imageries! Very beautifully written!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I found that the imagery almost make you feel as you are actually there! This is a great poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Gorgeous piece. Well done.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Beautiful job! I love this so much; I am enchanted by the way this started out with a dark feel and then slowly brightened up with hope and inspiration at the end.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wonderful use of imagery :) I loved the ending, great work!

  • This is a beautiful piece pf marine poetry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.