Poets logo

Buried in an hourglass

Worst fear come to pass

By Harbor BenassaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Buried in an hourglass
Photo by Jennifer Marquez on Unsplash

Life is slipping through my fingers, hour by hour

I pick up a black box just to smother my power.

Thoughts disappear in a pixelated mind,

Halted in my tracks, I am painfully enshrined,

Frozen like a statue engulfed below Pompeii,

I'm untethered from a body that can never decay.

And I'm not even making good use of my own tongue,

I could live this paralyzed in an iron lung

Searching for my next visual drug-

Nobody on earth wants to know what I'm running from.

I've hidden my heart in a canopic jar,

In a void fit for a king pointing stoutly at the stars.

I attend a living funeral devoid of all mourners,

Grains of dying happiness gathered in the corners

I'll never make real memories again-

the seconds tick,

Buried in an hourglass

Six feet thick.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Harbor Benassa

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    fabulous

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Surreal and dark. Left a heart!!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.