Poets logo

Built Upon Sand

by Cheyela Effinger

By Cheyela Effinger Published 3 years ago 2 min read

A Wise man built his house upon a rock

A foolish man built his house upon the sand.

I was built upon sand.

Left stranded on an arid beach,

steep impossible cliffs behind me

and a powerful salt water wall before me.

A sand castle never lasts forever no matter how large the moat or how tall the wall. The waves of the tide take it all.

Nobody can build a house upon sand

Yet it seems that is all I have.

A trauma unexplained, Un treated. Untamed.

Has left many, lost in the sinking shifting g Beach

Or swept out to sea, unable to hold on.

That same trap has me.

I can look above for something to cling to only to find it crumbling under my grip.

And I can run for days on end and reach no further than where I began

And I can swim only to be tossed back to the shore.

How can I build a home when all I've known of "home" has been fickle sand on the beach?

Lapping in with the waves and then saying goodbye again.

Without hesitation.

With ease.

I was built upon sand, stranded and alone. With nothing around me that can serve as home.

But as the years stretch on and the tide and waves carry on,

I finally start to realize that with each passing wave something new arrives

Sometimes it's a hoard of urchins making movement a dangerous feat.

Sometines it's beautiful shells brought in or Strange shiny stones

Buffed smooth by the water.

I find many things that glimmer in the sun.

I gather them up one by one

Keeping them safe and sound

Something to hold onto

Something to profound

To me and only me

And one day I find myself

Toes buried in the sand

Watching the clouds and water

Roll on.

Ready for the next tide and whatever it may bring.

I was built upon sand

And sometimes I wonder if I'll live on the shore forever.

Alone on my beach with my many treasures that grow more precious to me with each passing day.

Every day is new.

And maybe one day the tide will bring in more than just hope

In the form of shiny shells and stones

maybe a raft

or a driftwood log to become a ladder

But for now I will bury my feet in the warm sand of today and forget the rest.

Forget tomorrow's spell and yesterday's tears.

Let it all melt away

On a beach

On a rock.

You can enjoy them in different ways

Because in the end you only have today.

So I look forward

Towards a setting sun

And hope for a Day when a home of my own can be won.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Cheyela Effinger

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cheyela Effinger Written by Cheyela Effinger

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.