Poets logo

Built for Comfort, Not for Speed

Sheer driving pleasure

By Denise SheltonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Built for Comfort, Not for Speed
Photo by Steady Hand Co. on Unsplash

I’m wide-bodied, baby,

Low to the ground

That purr-purr-purrrrrrr

Is my signature sound

My finish is flawless

All systems are go

I may be your ride

But you got to go slow

‘Cause I’m built for comfort

Never for speed

A deft-handed driver's the kind that I need

The deed’s in the details

Each shudder and sigh

So drive-through Don Juans

Can just keep cruising by

My upholstery’s plush

The heating works fine

It’ll loosen the knots

At the base of your spine

The touch of a button

Will put me in gear

Grinding’s okay, babe

Just let me steer

‘Cause I’m built for comfort

So safe and serene

Parked in your driveway, classy and clean

Awaiting awakening

Total turn-key

For the ride of your life

Slip in here with me

It's pleasure trips only

The valleys and hills

The rocking and rolling

The spills and the thrills

At the end of the road

When our gas gauge hits "E"

"Oh, what a feeling!"

Safe, sated, and free

inspirationalnature poetryperformance poetryvintage
Like

About the Creator

Denise Shelton

Denise Shelton writes on a variety of topics and in several different genres. Frequent subjects include history, politics, and opinion. She gleefully writes poetry The New Yorker wouldn't dare publish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise Shelton (Author)2 years ago

    Thanks, Jessi!

  • Jessi2 years ago

    Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.