Poets logo

Brown

A love/hate relationship

By Angie Tailor-JoicePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I hate my brown skin.

I hate that I am different, I hate that I stand out;

I hate that when you look at me you think I know what I'm about.

You think I have a corner shop, an arranged marriage, and no voice.

You think that I'm subserviant, with no opinions and no choice.

I hate my brown skin.

It makes me a target for your ignorance, for you to taunt and disapprove;

It's easy to take racist potshots at a target too scared to move.

I hate my brown skin.

I wish I had white skin, that I was pale and light and fair.

I wish I had cute freckles and my arms weren't covered in hair.

I wish I looked like the other girls, and my face wasn't so dark;

Maybe boys would think I'm pretty, or even notice me. That would be a start.

I hate my brown skin

Being Indian is the least cool type of brown.

Black is so much cooler, Bob Marley, great hair and motown. That's some type of crown!

I feel like a second class person, like I'm almost but not quite good enough;

I would be though if only it wasn't for this brown coloured skin stuff.

And then I got older, got bolder. Grew. Spread my wings a little. Flew.

Flew above the ignorance. Flew above the clouds. Flew above the mainstream, and all the bigoted voices shouting loud.

I love my brown skin.

I love all of my heritage, I love all of my past.

I love how with my children my brown legacy will last.

I love to wear a sari, and a bhindi on my head,

I loved the henna on my hands the day that I was wed.

I love my brown skin.

I love that I am different, and I love that I stand out.

I love that when you look at me you don't know what I'm about.

I don't care if you think I'm a doctor, or a pharmacist or wife;

I don't care if you think you know me or know anything about my life.

I love my brown skin.

I love my honey golden skin, it glows with warmth and health.

I love my shiny, sleek black hair, I love the colour of myself.

I love my brown skin.

I love to stand up and prove you wrong when you think I should be meek,

When you try and silence me I will stand up and speak.

I am proud of who I am. I am proud of being brown.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Angie Tailor-Joice

Woman, Feminist, Mother, Wife, Writer. Passionate about Easetenders, sleeping, the 90's, starting projects and not finishing them and pointed-toe stilettoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.