Poets logo

Brother

Bro

By Arthur WaltonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

What comes to mind when you think of or hear the word brother? For me it is having a relationship not like any other.

First off just get it on out there that you do not need the same father or mother; to take it a step further than that is you do not have to be the same race or color.

NowI do have 3 blood brothers, with my oldest did not get to spend to much time; since almost his whole adult life he been locked up for committing crime.

Then my bro who was lost a few years back, taking away from us way too soon to go; thought he had fell off his rocker yet instead was extremely disheartened to learn what we had to know.

Although his diagnosis did explain why he was so lethargic , out of it, and weak; Stage 4 brain cancer over took him out of nowhere then dead and gone within a span of just one week.

Last is my youngest bro who used his head to decide to get away from a life of crime in the streets; moved to Indiana where he is now the proud Poppa of 4 beautiful girls, sweetest kids you wil ever meet.

He went from hustling on the street corners to running an MMA gym; translating street fighting to mma where he holds state heavyweight crown as a pro

Next up is Maino, my bro from another mother as they like to say; been my best friend for 35+ years and has my back regardless still to this day.

Was my rock to lean on after moving to new city and state as a kid; got completely uprooted at age 5 plus lost in translation that came of it.

Moved from peaceful Amish country to the hood which can be a total culture shock; especially when considering the gangs and dealers had total control of the block.

But Maino took me in like his own flesh and blood; sheltered me to an extent, was years later before realized just how rough and tough.

The streets can truly be, even more so if you white in the projects; yet Maino and his family tried to prevent me from becoming just another statistical subject.

By teenage years I was very well versed in hood life as well as gangs; as a full circle moment I ran with a crew but refused to let Maino bang.

Which leads to the 3rd member of our dysfunctional may unlikely trio; my boy D or Dwyane aka Coolaid and together we was like a ghetto three amigos.

Just so it is known D ran with a set from the other side of town; he was blue and me red but when together was never any disrespect to be found.

Some friendships can transcend time, marriages , as well as any gang allegiance; and you can believe me when I say from both sides we encountered plenty of resistance.

More so if there was any beef being dealt with of any kind from either side; regardless though he was my mothers son just like his mother was mine.

Now D had his health issues, diabetes etc., so when Big Momma passed away you could see the writing on the wall; D just gave up on his treatments so within six months he was buried side by side with his mom.

Think bout D passing plus my bro from cancer constantly, daily, just all the time; that kind of pain will never leave or be as they say, out of sight or out of mind.

If you have never had a relationship like me, Maino, and D then I am sorry; to not knoe what that is like, no matter good or bad, is same as full on heart robbery.

But let us move on to the next kind of bro there is and Ive already mentioned this; being the brotherhood you find by being in a gang or running with a cliq.

I know people look down on or can not understand the comaraderie from being a gang member; so I will explain as best as I can from personal experiences I still remember.

Do you know if anyone in your family would legitimately take a bullet for you? I had 67 brothers that would, hell some did take bullet for me, each other, or for name of the crew.

Obviously different gangs are ran many seperate ways with different bi-laws to abide by as well as different beliefs to live by; I am a Vice Lord, we big on family, respect, loyalty, trust to point that if came to it for our flag we would die.

Don't get it twisted either, gangs are more like a family than most will know or ever want to admit; my fellow Lords not only take a bullet for me but also catch a charge and take a prison bid.

Honestly, coming from exp, it is an honor to take a charge for another, even attempted murder; all while keeping your mouth shut, never speak against a brother, to hell with what society calls 'normal or order'.

I faced down an att murder charge while barely at 17 years old, me and two other guys where charge partners in crime; fact is there was ten people present when shots popped off yet seven did not do a single minute of time.

Us three brothers remained tru to the g code of the streets by not saying a word; of course this life is not for everyone, most will not live by or die by the sword.

Last on my list is a band of brothers revered for fact they will die for each other without any hesitation; much like gang membera but this gang is putting their lives on the line daily protecting our great nation.

Members of any branch of Armed Forces has my u respect; to the moon and back yet they deserve a hell of a lot more than they get.

Think bout it for moment, how are we able to live in any way or kind of normalcy? Only from these men and women fighting for our fredom, our beliefs, and our democracy.

So for my money and opinion however I am always open to anyone's personal suggestions; the bond soldiers share is more powerful at it's core than even being a blood relation.

I wanted to go fight for my country but was not allowed to enlist or give it that old try; since I was already a violent convicted felon as an adult before old enough to sign up so dream got N' sinc' d, bye bye bye

Being a juvenile gang member took care of any chance of being a war vet during my life; instead I became a street soldier engaging in many gang wars and somehow able to survive.

Maybe that is why I whole heartedly believe that our vets deserve way more than we give or show; my opinion is every vet should be treated as they really are, a real true hero!!!

Lastly ladies please do not feel left out or start to fret over anything Ive said or anyone has shown; sinply substitute bro with your fav sis or girls name then story morphed ! all your own.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Arthur Walton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Arthur William2 years ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.