Poets logo

Broken

Colorblind

By Dawn GooPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7

Broken

She handed her father a box of crayons, and a pad of white paper. "Draw me an adventure."

But he only chose two. The black crayon and the white. Then he whispered, "I have no room in my life for color."

So she whispered back, "How can you see the picture if it's white on white." "Exactly," he said.

So she took the remainder of the box, as her heart bled, indigo, fuchsia and brick red. She turned, and silently walked away as he smiled, and continued to draw.

She took the box of crayons, dumped them out onto the floor, handed her husband a pad of white paper, and said "draw me an adventure."

He quickly choose two vibrant colors, but then methodically placed all the other crayons back into their original spaces. Then he drew two large interlocking hearts.

She removed the stardust yellow, and the Robins egg blue from the box, and began to color on the corner of the page he'd drawn on.

“You can't color outside the lines," he said.

“Why not," she asked?

“Because it's messy, and I don't like mess."

She replied, "but life is messy. You didn't tell me I couldn't color outside the lines."

“I shouldn't have too," he said sad eyes , then picked up the paper and walked away.

“You told me to be me, I color outside the lines."

“Exactly," he said. Crumbling it in his hands, he tossed it into the trash as he disappeared from view.

Although her heart broken again, for that's what love does, it no longer bled indigo, fuchsia, or brick red. Those are the colors of all the lost crayons she’d gathered along the way, that she used to draw her own adventure.

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Dawn Goo

Cancer Patient, hoping my cancer doesn’t go active again. In the meantime, I’m just a 55 year old woman who’s loved, and lost a lot of times, so I write things out to let them go. I share hoping someone else might feel less alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.