Poets logo

Broken wings

Dreams forever

By Prayoga YulianoPublished 15 days ago 1 min read

As the earth whispers, my breath is caught in my throat to race in my chest

even every intertwined pulse is no longer passed by blood

where are you going my dear love?

does your loss also create a farewell to the world?

stay here my love, accompany my longing shadow of this sweet loyalty

can't you imagine my soul drifting away and not returning when you leave?

leaving the best for both of us

how can you remember every second my breath is always saved only for your heart?

and if everything within me is only for your steps, then let my death overshadow every trace of your footsteps

I never imagined if you were here just to accompany half of the short time

I try to spread my broken wings again

just to prove that I can fly even though I always fall

you destroy me in a pain that you never caused

you cast this self into the torment of the heart's recess

until now I am still trying to wake up from my dreams

which increasingly make me unaware that you are no longer mine

you never stabbed me, but you split my wings by disappearing from my embrace

you gave me the last smile that always makes me cry

even your footsteps that I always miss only become a hidden sound

memories of you may be the only life I live even in dreams

what remains now is just a lingering smile

but it will disappear as my spirit drifts away

perhaps you are not someone I can have forever

and perhaps you will only be a dream forever

I hope you stay here to accompany my still living body

heartbreak

About the Creator

Prayoga Yuliano

Teacher | Educator| Psychologist | Counselor | Philosopher. Story genres: 1. Science fiction 2. Psychological horror 3. Mystical horror 4. Pseudo History. Enjoy!!

My personality from DISC Test : Consentiousness

IG : Avverrosch , Dopamine

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake15 days ago

    "until now I am still trying to wake up from my dreams" This is the struggling part of every one of us. Loved it.

  • Manisha Dhalani15 days ago

    Such fantastic writing. Loved this line - "you never stabbed me, but you split my wings by disappearing from my embrace" Nice one.

Prayoga YulianoWritten by Prayoga Yuliano

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.