Poets logo

Broken

Pieces of a person

By Erin CuellarPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I am splintered

A million pieces of glass from the pain of the people that were supposed to love me

The lies and deceit created armor and walls for safety

I am ruptured

Unconditional love exists in a fantasy world unknown to reality

Screaming and abuses unfathomable for a child affecting my sanity

I am snapped

No apologies or acknowledgement took years to accept

Being the black sheep of the family with secrets continuing to be swept

I am fragmented

Only to find new chaos at such a young age

Alcohol and drugs intertwined with a little bit of rage

I am shattered

Bruises and battles mixed with the innocence of children

How do I show up and not become the villain

I am defeated

Escape to the next place in hopes to find new

Only for the actions to show up on queue

I am crushed

Courage to leave and to start all over

Promises of change and to do it all sober

I am discouraged

Fear of loneliness and inability to be seen

How can one love in a world that is so mean

I am dispirited

A million pieces of glass from the pain of the people that were supposed to love me

The lies and deceit created armor and walls for safety

I am broken

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Erin Cuellar

I love writing. It is a great outlet and I am excited to learn from folks on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.