Poets logo

Broken Promises

A "dialogue" poem

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished 3 days ago Updated about 2 hours ago 2 min read
Broken Promises
Photo by Marah Bashir on Unsplash

"You promised me commitment."

"Monogamy is a crime."

"Two decades of my life. I wasted so much time."

"I know I played with your heart."

"You also played with my mind!"

"I have not been in a good, emotional, space."

"Yet, you continue to play, right in my face."

"YOU KNOW THAT I STILL LOVE YOU!"

"WHY WON'T YOU TAKE YOUR CASE!"

"You were angry all the time. You never kept your cool."

"If you paid all the bills, cooked, and cleaned, you'd be angry too."

"Whatever, that's not it. Sorry, not convinced."

"You pulled up to my house, and said, "I had no common sense."

"I didn't sleep with your friend."

"Still lying. Here we go again."

"I never cheated on you."

"Do you think I'm a fool?"

"Who do you think you are talking to?"

"Choc, I'm talking to you."

"Every time I see you, I get déjà vu."

"We had some good times."

"Yeah, mostly on my dime."

"I shared with you my fears."

"You kept me in tears."

"I'm still in love with you; in time, you will see."

"With time, I saw the truth; you NEVER CARED ABOUT ME!"

"You have my name tattooed on you; you're being pretty fake."

"I was young and dumb, and that was a mistake."

"You put EVERYONE before me, above me, and below."

"I put never others before you."

"You treated me like a hoe!"

"You manipulated me! You played with my life!"

"Never had any intentions, of making me your wife!"

"I begged you to do things with me. But, it was always something."

"All those broken promises,

just to end up with nothing."

"I don't care what you say, I treated you like a queen."

"I don't remember it that way at all; you were pompous and mean."

"Well, I guess it doesn't matter because I went and tied the knot."

"GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR FUTURE WIFE,

IN HELL IS WHERE YOU'LL ROT!"

"I JUST CAME TO CHECK ON YOU, WHY CAN'T WE ATLEAST BE FRIENDS?!"

"I NEVER WANT TO SEE YOUR FACE,

DO NOT come here...again!"

heartbreak

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Adrianne KirkseyWritten by Adrianne Kirksey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.