Poets logo

Broken Glass Bottles

Surrounded...

By Sand Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Flowing 

Personally I'm always looking for people to latch on to but I'm so afraid of being alone that I'm too cowardly to move forward. I find myself in still waters often yet the ripples I choose to make always turn into tidal waves attracting shards from broken glass bottles. In gaining garbage do I become a dump or do I make sculptures from these pieces? Do I build or do I destroy? I'm looking for myself and in this trip I pass through others as if to collect parts to other puzzles. I'm too afraid to create my own. Moving up and forward or am I walking up a downward escalator? When does self inflicting become self love? When does the tension between me and myself clear? When do I feel safe and strong enough with me to no longer lean on others? When do the airs of toxicity become perfumes of sweet comforting scents? When do I realize that being lost is really just the same as finding something familiar, Getting used to the new things just like hiding from old ones? I feel pain often but it's always pain from myself. Do I hate myself or is this just tough love? Is it that dark or am I just keeping my eyes closed? When I answer these questions I could find myself but I might not. I won't know till I try but I'm still in still water waist deep, moving forward with a blindfold on in a sea of broken glass.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sand

I used to feel like i could show people what I overcame. I’m older now and broken down I guess I’m really just calling out without expectations these days it’s smoothing still being able to hear myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.