Poets logo

Broken Dreams

A Poem of Heartbreak and Loss

By Shahab AhmedPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Broken Dreams
Photo by Luigi Boccardo on Unsplash

The wind whispers through the trees,

A mournful song of shattered dreams,

As I stand alone in the pouring rain,

Lost in a sea of endless pain.

My heart is heavy with sorrow and grief,

For the love that I once held so dear,

Has slipped away like sand through my fingers,

Leaving me with nothing but tears.

I thought we had a love that would last,

A bond that could never be broken,

But now I see that it was just a dream,

A fantasy that was never meant to be spoken.

I gave you my heart and my soul,

But you took them and cast them aside,

Leaving me with nothing but memories,

Of a love that has long since died.

I wander through the streets like a ghost,

Haunted by the love that we once knew,

But now all I see is an empty void,

Where once there was only me and you.

The pain is too much to bear,

As I try to pick up the pieces of my heart,

But I know that I must move on,

And find a way to make a new start.

So I'll wipe away my tears and my fears,

And face the world with a broken heart,

For even though our love has died,

I know that I can still make a new start.

sad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Shahab Ahmed

لا تخدعكم حياة هذا العالم

Don't be deceived by the life of this world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.