Poets logo

Broken But Not Shattered

Inspired by the Japenese Art of Kintsugi

By Andrea EdwardsPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

Life may kick me in the face

Take jabs at my spirit

Causing pieces of me to be scattered to the wind

I may stumble

I may even fall

I notice the pieces that are no longer in the places they were

And mourn what was...

I may be missing pieces

Bleeding

Cut

Stabbed

Riddled with bullet holes from what life keeps shooting my way...

Yet

I must go on...

I crawl

I fall

I walk

I push myself because I refuse to be defeated

The pieces of me that I thought I’ve lost

Keep showing up along the path, I’m currently on

Each piece

I pick it up

I embrace it

And with gold as glue, I slide it back into place,

Completing another piece of the puzzle that is my being

I might be broken

But I ain’t shattered

Broken means that...

It can be fixed

Yet

Shattered... is beyond repair

I embrace all of me

Broken pieces

Missing pieces

Pieces that have yet to be

Broken me

In progress me

Just means that I’m a work of art

A priceless diamond being created and pressed into something great

Something that this world has yet to see

I might be broken

But that doesn’t define me

Finding my pieces along my life journey

Is what makes me, me.

art
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Edwards

I’m a mother, tech guru and wife who loves makeup, reading/writing, cooking/baking, sewing/DIY, etc. I’m a self diagnosed information hoarder and I enjoy my hardcore hobby ADD tendencies..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.