Poets logo

Broken Admiration

Something to Mourn

By Mike DayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lies in my youth that make me suspect that it’s true,

someone to trust, someone to believe, someone to put all my hopes and fears in.

I found figures in my thoughts, something they were not, that I believed I could tell myself to stop doubting myself, to bring me up when I was down, where I could feel safe in this world knowing they’d be there, someone for my mind to care.

Eventually it all comes down, the curtain and the crowd, that entertained my thoughts I thought so proud, perhaps it’s for the best, to leave this mess of broken shards of dreams I once held, that fake figure of a stained glass saint.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.