Poets logo

Broken

When Love hurts

By Kalu Mercy Published 12 months ago 1 min read
2
Broken
Photo by Joeyy Lee on Unsplash

Broken by my lover's touch, a shattered soul I bear,
Once adorned in love's embrace, now left in deep despair.
In tender moments past, our hearts beat as one,
But now I'm left with fragments of a love that came undone.
 
Each caress that used to heal now inflicts a searing pain,
The warmth that once enveloped me has turned cold and wane.
The promises we made, like whispers in the wind,
Lost amidst the wreckage of a love that met its end.
 
I trace the lines upon my heart, the scars of love's demise,
Aching with the memories that haunt my tear-stained eyes.
The laughter and the joy, now echoes from afar,
Replaced by echoes of silence, a void, a jagged scar.
 
Yet through this brokenness, I find strength to carry on,
To gather up the pieces and let my heart be drawn,
To a future yet unwritten, where healing can take flight,
Where love may bloom anew and mend the darkest night.
 
For love is not defined by the pain it may impart,
But by the resilience of the human heart.
I'll mend these broken pieces, I'll rise from ashes, strong,
And find a love that's lasting, where I truly do belong.
 
So here I stand, a warrior of love's battle scars,
Seeking solace in the cosmos and beneath the twinkling stars.
Though broken by my lover, I'll not let love define,
For within me lies the strength to heal and truly shine.
 
And in due time, I'll find a love that's meant to be,
A love that mends the brokenness and sets my spirit free.
Until then, I'll embrace this journey of self-rebirth,
And emerge from the darkness, to a love that's meant for earth.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.