Poets logo

Broken

A Poem

By Maya ReyesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

One sentence broke the dam

Of festering feelings that define who I am.

Trembling and quiet,

I try to hold them back and fight it.

Holding in tears,

I desperately ignore my fears

Of shattering and breaking the illusion.

I ponder, “Is there even a solution?”

Yet I try to stay strong,

But I can only lie for so long.

Desperately clinging to my mask,

I hide behind it so no one will ask.

But soon I break,

And then I fall for it's all I can take.

Pathetic, useless and weak,

That's what I am, a burden and a freak.

Broken and alone is where I find myself.

All I want is to call for help.

Encouraging words can help to fight off the urge,

But I soon find myself beginning to purge.

Pouring out is self-directed hate.

I try to stop but it's too late.

Decorated in black and blue,

I sit and wonder, "What did I do?"

Bloodshot eyes and dark thoughts

Are all that's left of me as I begin to rot.

Broken and battered, that's what I am,

"So I guess I deserve it," I think as I repair the dam.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.