Poets logo

Brick Wall

I'm used to it.

By Marisa ShrockPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The world around me is alive, but I'm not; not really.

I'm just here. Standing; sticking to myself with my exterior armor in all it's graffitied glory.

Do I seem alive to you? Do I seem alive because my exterior is covered in the remnants of their colorful paint?

Wait... Is that life? Is that all it is? Do I really exist just to reflect the beauty of others? Is it that why they grow so attached to me, because I listen to them, because I let them express themselves freely? What an awful thought, but a thought that might prove to be valid.

"Sorry, I'm still listening; please don't be mad..." These thoughts just pop into my head. I can't control them, not yet.

I'm sorry if you feel like you're talking to a brick wall, but I guess in a way you are.

I might have a vibrantly colored surface, but beyond all that artificial there's just dirt. Dirt, that was soaked in overflowing emotions, that was packed and molded by life experiences that no child should have to endure; dirt that was left out to dry, and finally did.

The past is the past; I've picked up my pieces since then and cemented them together. My pieces are my armor, and you're seeing whats left it. I'm sorry I don't have the ability to revert back, but you can paint my exterior if you'd like; others have without my permission simply for their own amusement. I'm used to it.

You seem different though...

Are you different?...

I hope so, but then again I'm just a brick wall. What do I know?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.