Poets logo

Breaking Inertia

Stepping Start

By Thavien YliasterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay | https://pixabay.com/vectors/sisyphus-struggle-frame-greek-4309051/ | https://pixabay.com/users/gdj-1086657/

What power in my life do I hold?

As the days go by and I begin to grow old

How do I keep my heart from growing cold?

...

What power in my life do I hold?

Everyday I learn more about humanity's actions that are depraved.

In all echelons of life I see countless people enslaved.

People refuse to gamble their lives; so the cards in their hands they'll fold.

...

Why is it that peoples' roles are pigeon holed into a mold?

Even after countless trials that people have braved

They call out for a hero, a nurse, a doctor, waiting, begging, to be saved.

How do I keep my heart from growing cold?

...

What power in my life do I hold?

Do I have freewill or am I just given options?

"The power of choice gives you voice," is what I'm told.

But every choice is a decision being sold at auction.

...

The deathgrip of conventional fit I escape to no longer embrace.

"Flamboyant! Outrageous! Menacingly Unorthodoxical! Deemed Unfit for us!" I am labeled for being bold.

"Thine's unscrupulous deeds will bring about consequences that you must face!"

How do I keep my heart from growing cold?

...

What power in my life do I hold?

Gained experiences and knowledge from wise lessons told.

How do I keep my heart from growing cold?

performance poetryslam poetrysocial commentaryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Powerful message, worded beautifully. Great job Thavien!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Great poem, great question.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    You're message is powerful - I enjoyed this poem. :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    You did a fine job writing this poem. I totally get where you're coming from.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.