Poets logo

Breakaway

Time To Shed The Monotony

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
2
Breakaway
Photo by 浮萍 闪电 on Unsplash

Every day is the same,

Monotonous.

Will I ever be free to flex my brain?

Spontaneity,

Does it still exist inside of me?

.

Caught up in the rat race.

I feel as if I’ve been thrust into the mold.

Made to conform.

That’s all we’re told to do from the day that we are born.

.

How each day drags and drones.

They suck the life, the ambition from my soul.

Looking around the office, all I see are carbon-copy drones.

Staring in the mirror there is no spark of ingenuity apparent on my face.

.

Is this to be our only role?

Is this the goal, the end game?

Stifle our uniqueness, crush that creativity.

This is all they seek.

Obedient, dull pawns who are all the same.

.

That’s why our superiors can barely recall a name.

Will we soon be addressed by our employee numbers?

The keycard number becomes the only way to differentiate

Between Bill, Hannah, or Henry?

.

If I speak up

Will I find they are quick to expel me?

I am tired of blending,

Tired within and without.

Tired of expending.

.

So much energy is wasted to act as an automaton.

Why hire humans if not for their innovative potential?

What does AI have that I don’t?

Surely, not the imagination.

..

No, I am breaking free.

My capabilities are exponential.

Why be stagnant?

Let us all breakaway!

.

Everyone, listen, please!

Think for yourselves!

Release your individuality,

Embrace your originality.

We are not meant to act as their obedient little elves.

.

We put our needs on the back shelves.

Yet there is no contentment to be found there.

Look inward, reach down deep where your long-stifled aspirations dwell.

Embrace your true selves.

.

Do you want to be a mindless copy

Trapped in a vacuous cycle,

Or to triumph and ascend?

Do not let them quell.

Rise and shed this redundancy.

.

Be free.

Breakaway.

. . .

Special Shout-out to Jerry Saunders for aiding in the inspiration for this piece!

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

This poem was originally published on Medium.

inspirationalsurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Robbie Newport3 months ago

    Yes, think for yourself! Be an individual and let the creativity inside stay alive.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.