Poets logo

Boy In The Flowers

Poem

By Paul CrockerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

How the roots intertwine.

Wrapping around my legs like vines.

Grounding me into the soil like an anchored ship.

But I'm not complaining about the grip.

When I'm a boy in the flowers.

The stems surround me like a fence.

Keeping out the sights that cause offence.

Only the sunlight may pass through.

Just enough to remind me what is true.

I am the boy in the flowers.

Leaves overlap to cover my skin.

Blanketing from the touch of the wind.

Taking the cold hit so that I may bloom in peace.

Unaware of how they sacrifice themselves to the freeze.

This is the boy in the flowers.

Pretty petals shelter me from the storm.

Their beautiful hues keep me warm.

However dark, a rainbow awaits.

A welcome sight at any rate.

I'm the boy in the flowers.

The pollen mixes with my breath.

Because there is no clean air left.

My asthma kicks in on cue.

But I left my inhaler at home for you.

When I am the boy in the flowers.

I could have been there for hours.

Soaked to the skin by the summer showers.

How triumphantly they tower.

With their natural powers.

I was the boy in the flowers.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paul Crocker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.