Poets logo

Boxed In

How I lost myself

By Shelby MundayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Boxed In
Photo by Brandable Box on Unsplash

How could I have ever lived in something so square? There once was a box, and yes I lived there.

Never before had I thought that I would lose myself, in things I thought I felt. But there I was, each day, allowing someone to box me up and put me on a shelf.

I came to know the box, a place like no other. I grew to call it home, even though inside I felt trapped and smothered.

Once in a great while, she took me out of the box and I’d just melt. The box became so familiar that when she left me, I decided to live in it all by myself

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.