Poets logo

Bowels or beer

Choosing health

By Dominic Casey-LeePublished 13 days ago 1 min read
1
Bowels or beer
Photo by Wil Stewart on Unsplash

And yet here I am, sipping a beer

Even though there’s a pain

In the left of my lower bowel

That I’m pretty sure is brought on

By an overconsumption of alcohol

Why do I find it difficult

Do prioritise my digestive health?

Instead of chasing that sweet feeling

Of a lofty head in the afternoon sunlight

I really just wish

That booze wasn’t bad for my body

If I rubbed a golden lamp and freed a djinn

I just know my first request

Would be just that

Some people say

That we drink to run away

But I’m not trying to escape

I genuinely find joy

In this nectar of grain and grape

That’s not to say

That when I don’t drink, things are grey

I’m plenty happy each day

There’s just an extra spice to live

With a beverage in hand

And I don’t want to feel guilt

For partaking in this temptation

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Dominic Casey-Lee

Ecclectic, erotic, enigmatic. Exploring the mysteries of our existence through words, and hopefully providing some entertainment along the way.

Here you'll find excerpts from my fantasy project, stories, poems and general rambling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.