Poets logo

Bottomless

Prone to floating since 2013

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I fell to the ground

But I felt no ground beneath me

So I looked up at the stars

But all I could find was a dead black sky

And I swear to god that I am stone cold sober

For my glass is never empty, but it's never been full

If I were a realist, then I would know

That my hands are still attached to my body

But here's my hands, and here's my voice

And I can't see a connection

So I look in the mirror to find my eyes are gone

And I swear to god that I am stone cold sober

Though my glass is never empty, it's never been filled

And I swear to god that I am stone cold sober

Gravity presses on me until I lose my vision

Yet here I am, floating around

I don't even want to stand, I just need somewhere to land

But the ground keeps falling down

I'm not a realist, but I'll put my faith in science here

Because I can't see - I have no eyes, remember?

And gravity makes my instrument sing I suppose

For I can't hear a sound

And I swear to god that I am stone cold sober

My glass is never empty but it's also never full

And I swear to god that I am stone cold sober

I just dropped my glass and it didn't hurt at all

I don't care if it hurts, I just need somewhere to land

I don't care if it hurts, I just need somewhere to land

Come back to me earth, I miss you my old friend

I don't care if it hurts, I just need somewhere to land

I don't care if it hurts

I don't care

And I swear to god that I am stone cold sober

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.