Poets logo

Bottoming Out

Life of an addict

By Ryan PoshustaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Another night alone in my head.

Accompanied only by thoughts I dread.

A night of poor choices

damned to listen to my inner voices.

Judging,

hating,

questioning,

most of all debilitating.

This pain

and the twisting strain

on my brain

Is sure to drive most insane.

Constantly asking what am I doing?

Where am I going?

Caught in this rut

fearing what I'll see when my eyes shut.

The dreamscapes are scarce

while nightmares are plenty

which is all too common when your empty.

Filled only with Self loathing

now manifesting

Through self destructing acts slowly defining a life

that has never been weakened by strife.

Never needing substance as a crutch.

Now vulnerable to its slightest touch.

Begging for salvation

or a revelation

from my obvious destination.

I've finished my preparation

but can't manage any action.

I'll tell myself it's time to end this sorrow,

but it's shortly followed by

“fuck it maybe tomorrow."

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.