Poets logo

BORDERLINE

What Makes Me Unique

By Lisa BrasherPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
BORDERLINE
Photo by JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

What makes me unique?

Let me tell you a scary story.

I am either black or white.

I am chaos or light.

I am borderline.

I am clear or I am mud.

I am light or land with a thud.

I am borderline.

I am euphoric or furious.

Your despair only mildly curious

I am borderline.

I can lift hearts in a flash

Or destroy every one of them in my path.

I am borderline.

The hurt I inflict

Will leave a scar.

You will still be getting over me from afar.

I am borderline.

One day I remember

The next day I don't.

I will do what you want one day,

The next day I won't.

I am borderline.

Yesterday I was ruthless.

Today I am contrite.

You will hate me,

Or love me with all your might.

I am borderline.

Yesterday I blew in like a hurricane.

Today I am calm as a Hawaiian breeze.

One day sane, the next day on one of my sprees.

I am borderline.

Last night my words were razors.

This morning soft as velvet.

One minute a laser,

The next heartfelt.

I am borderline.

An hour ago you could do no wrong.

An hour from now you will do no right.

Sometimes a song,

Other times a fight.

I am borderline.

You will walk a path of rose petals

Or run on broken glass.

Some days feel like metal,

Others like plush grass.

I am borderline.

Can't keep up with the roller coaster

It will give you whiplash.

You will think you are crazy

Every time I crash.

I am stubborn as an ox.

No other idea or opinion maters.

I do not care if your self esteem shatters.

I am borderline.

I am everything you want.

I am nothing you need.

This is my good deed

I AM A BORDERLINE.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Brasher

Start writing...I am a retired teacher. I taught elementary school for 30 years. I have written. short. stories and poems . I. am. looking. to. become. a full. time writer. . I live. in ,Houston Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.