Poets logo

Book Review #1

Ashes On The Waves

By Jessie Phoenix SkyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

“I and my Annabel Lee”

THE INSPIRATION

If you know me, then you know that I’m a big fan of Edgar Allan Poe. Of course, he's not the only writer I love, but he's definitely on my top 10 list. And out of all of his works, the poem Annabel Lee is my #1 favorite.

I even often challenge myself to read it as quickly as I can. It’s fun and sounds amazing... I'm not weird, your weird.

Anyway, back to the point. Though the poem talks of the tragic loss of his love, it is the least morbid poem of his and I find it so beautiful. You might have heard of the poem and maybe even have read it yourself.

But did you know there’s a romance novel that was inspired by the poem?

THE BOOK

Ashes on the Waves written by Mary Lindsey is by far one of my favorite love stories. Want to know what it’s about? Here’s the description on the back of the book.

"Liam MacGregor is cursed. Haunted by the wails of fantastical creatures and labeled a demon by the villagers of Dochas, Liam has accepted that things will never get better for him - until Annabel Leighton arrives on the island. With Anna, Liam finally finds the happiness he has always been denied. But the doomed lovers catch the attention of Otherworld folk inhabiting the area. The creatures make a wager on the couple, betting that their love can't survive a series of cruel obstacles including the ultimate test - one that could not only destroy their love but might destroy them."

REVIEW

I’ve had this book on my shelf for 7 years now and once a year I pick it up and read it as if it’s for the first time. I fall in love all over again with the amazingly crafted characters Liam and Annabel. The story is riveting and so very beautifully brings Edgar’s “Annabel Lee” to life. The first time I read this book, I was hooked from the very first sentence and could not put the book down. I finished it within a day. Don’t judge me...

The story was everything I look for in a romance novel. It made me happy, and it made me sad, it made me laugh, it made me cry and in the end, it gave me closure.

The romance between Liam and Annabel is so fun to read. Without spoiling it, let me give you some details. See, Liam was born with a disability. In the small village that he was born and raised in, the people fear him. They see his disability as a sign that he is a "devil’s child." Crazy, I know. They fear him and even his father mistreats him. But he’s not entirely alone. He’s got a wonderful friend and the lovely Annabel to back him up when he is accused of wrongdoings in the village.

However, the love between Liam and Annabel isn’t the only love story in this book. Remember, there are creatures in the sea. Some of them lure people to their death. But some of them act as guardians and one of them loves Liam and has vowed to protect him.

The story shares a lot of similarities with Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. For instance, the love between Liam and Annabel is forbidden by those around them with only the support from Liam’s closest friend.

Now, I don’t want to give too much away and spoil it for interested readers. But if you know and love Edgar's poem Annabel Lee then this book is for you! I promise it is so worth reading.

So, have I sparked your interest? Give it a read!

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Jessie Phoenix Sky

Hello! You can call me J.P. I’ve been writing stories since 2008 and have 25+ books that I am working to publish. I hope you enjoy my imagination and fall in love with the characters and worlds that I’ve created.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.