Poets logo

Bob

...my Irish cob

By Marie McGrath DavisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Co. Mayo, Ireland, my second home...where my heart remains

Give me the reins, Bob.

Will you take me to the strand?

To the shimmering pools now the tide's out,

And the weeds and wee birds skittering,

Where your hoof prints dot the sand

with outlines of our passage,

Until the waves wash anew

And scatter the wee birds.

Will you take me to my dreams, Bob?

Will you hold me there while I spy

The picture of us in the dim corner

Of my childish world,

When there was no Bob, no strand,

No tittering wind nor skittering birds,

Just the sidhe glimpse of what might be

If only dreams could smile?

And now, Bob, we're us,

And we're here,

And I hold your reins,

And you hold me.

And the wee birds are skittering.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marie McGrath Davis

If I didn't write, I would explode.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.