Poets logo

Bluestalgic

A poem for my nostalgic self

By Ruth A.MPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Bluestalgic
Photo by Adrien Ledoux on Unsplash

Let me be blue,

a midnight blue, in the shade of melancholy

a starry night, yearning for

lost stars, lost memories, lost chances,

my 90's clothes, my childhood, my old tunes,

the personalities of a past

I keep longing for.

Let me soak in my indigo sadness,

and be pensive, not quite somber,

let me be profound, and prolong this wistful desire

to go back to the deep ocean of my memories

and indulge in the reminiscence of a past

I keep taking from.

Let my soul turn dark blue,

but just wait

for all that I am, too,

for the wanderlust to dissipate

to see it dilate into a light blue sky

as I embrace the healing nature of letting go.

You will see right through me, past the eye of the stormy sea;

my blues will dissolve as they reach the turquoise bay

and there, you will feel my melancholia

wash away the gloom with a new, calming feeling,

a depth of understanding

that my soul is a spirit through the times

and as it leaves the shore of one gloomy mood,

its shades kaleidoscope and I become

an electric blue,

a continuity of my old self,

of all that I am, too.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ruth A.M

Bilingual poet, surrealist, and MFA student. Spanish/English.

Follow my IG @ruthampoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.