Poets logo

Blue Water

Flowers in a vase

By Centina Alexa König-WeichhardtPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
10

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

Science in a bottle, art the universe around. Stagnation kills the whale.

Fear kills the octopus. And both cannot eat each other.

What did they say when we were little children?

That the devil will come.

And the devil came. And he left again. Actually, it's a woman. I saw with my own eyes. Blood streamed out of them.

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

Books were old once. Now they are new. Can you see? What would you have to loose?

My skin is white, I felt ashamed.

Now I know they came from another world. Your eyes are brown, mine are green.

The cat’s are book-light-blue.

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

Let me scream, children. Let us scream.

What do they tell you now? That an angel will come.

I hope they are right. We built the way for you.

You are protected. By time and our courage that came from all we’ve seen. I smell like a saint. Hence I am one you say?

We will bring you salvation.

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

Blur awareness. Too much patterns.

I tell you, no one will come.

Alone is what we are. Darkness evolving around us to understand its beauty. In exploring, where is the point? The universe never stops.

Why should we?

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

I lost my coins. Gave them to hyenas.

Cost me part of my mind. How could they just take it. Fear is, to know, no one can carry you.

Fear is, to know the truth about solitude.

Fear is, to know, too much knowledge makes you old. That, an old witch told me once.

It was supposed to be a secret. But the witch disappeared. & who wants to know that now ?

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

Diving. Diving is to be underneath. Drowning to be numb.

Will you ever be who you are? But what is that.

Page after page. Rage emerging from joy. Formulas explaining magic. Magic. Magic of not being but existing. Or vice versa?

Im in pain, due to your lack of color. Or my own ?

I never gave them a rainbow. Who took it?

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

We should climb a mountain. Sit on the floor of a cold lake. Stop talking. I need to see. I cant see.

There will be fire. There is, I mean.

There will be water.

There will be earth and there will be wind.

Master your essence, children. No one will come.

Flowers in a vase, blue water.

A heart can only take so much pressure. Only so much heat. Only so much pain. My spine revolting. As if someone sat inside laughing,

refusing to let me, let go.

I will let go. Im letting go.

And everything that doesnt allow that,

Lets destroy and uncreate it.

Flowers in a vase. Blue water.

*** authors note ***

I wrote this poem in June2020 during lockdown times, in the middle of preparing for hard mathematical (online)exams and a planned (online)exhibition for some of my sculptures; On this day I was so intensly sad that i just had to go out and buy flowers from whoever had an open flower store. Due to all the funerals at the time, all of them were open and I bought a huge bouquet of flowers just for myself. And then i wrote this. And then could move on with my life..

surreal poetrysad poetrychildrens poetry
10

About the Creator

Centina Alexa König-Weichhardt

Emotional and surreal fiction and poetry captures the essence of the human experience, exploring the depths of the mind and the complexities of the heart.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Very well written, deep.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I loved how abstract and rambling this was, but succinct at the same time. One of the best. This was so good and different from anything else. Hearted subscribed and insights.

  • I loved this surreal journey woven with real concepts. You have my subscription

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Interesting concept to have “Flowers in a vase, blue water.” Start each stanza. I can feel the passion with which you write this, I am with speechless and breath taken. I really love the note at the end where you talked us through the creative process for you, I gave this piece even more dept and meaning! 💜

  • This is a thought-provoking and abstract poem that seems to explore themes of fear, isolation, and the search for meaning and identity. The imagery of flowers in a vase with blue water creates a peaceful and serene atmosphere, which contrasts with the darker themes that emerge throughout the poem. The lines "Stagnation kills the whale. Fear kills the octopus" capture the idea that being stuck in one place and being too afraid to take risks can be destructive. The reference to the devil as a woman who bleeds is a powerful image that challenges traditional gender roles and norms. The repetition of "Flowers in a vase, blue water" throughout the poem gives a sense of grounding and stability amidst the more abstract and existential ideas being explored. The use of different colors, such as white, brown, and book-light-blue, highlights the diversity of the human experience. The line "Master your essence, children. No one will come" seems to be a call to take ownership of one's own life and destiny, rather than relying on external forces or waiting for someone else to save us. Overall, the poem is intriguing and thought-provoking, with a mix of beautiful imagery and darker themes that leave the reader with a lot to ponder.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Sometimes, you just gotta take care of yourself. Lovely piece, and I hope you enjoyed the flowers.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Awww the personal note at the end of this really spoke to me. I am glad you bought yourself flowers 🥰

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Very deep and introspective!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.