Poets logo

Blue

Soul song

By Brad KuhnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Folles au morte

There's a shade of blue

I call "Wild Blue"

that makes me think of France

or Kansas

depending on how pretentious I'm feeling

or how much I've been thinking about wine

"Cornflower" they'd call it

in men's shirt catalogs

"Cerulean" to poets and

fashion-forward writers of couture copy

I guess because it's hard to get people

to break off an extra $20 for "Yonder"

It's free in November

Sky

There's a shade of blue

I call "Sweet-Jesus"

that makes me think of dancing in biker bars

hands cupped on the denim-clad curves

of a big-boned gal

hanging on for dear life

eye to eye, knee to thigh

grinding her gears

She sucks breath through clenched teeth

as my fingers find and linger on

the thin spot

that makes her think of past mistakes

and ones she'd like to make again

Indigo

There's a shade of blue

I call "Lucille"

that makes me think of Kansas City,

New Orleans, Memphis, St. Louis, or Chicago

digging glassy-eyed Buddhas with their mad, mad mudras

using horns and crying guitars

to rip the hearts out of suckers like me

who pay for the privilege

of having the surgery performed by professionals

instead of the dull knives of the back-alley butchers

back home

Cobalt

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brad Kuhn

Multi-media producer in Jacksonville, Fla. He has co-written three books and ghostwritten several more. His most recent offering is Dirty Work: The Untold Story of My Secret Mission to Steal Back TWA Flight 847 From Hezbollah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.