Poets logo

Blue Eyes

Do I want you?

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
From book, “The Witches and Witches of Oberin,” by Suza Scalora in 2001.

Blue eyes wait for seed

Shimmering, looming lower

The plan haunts my hours

___________________________

Written for the Time Capsule Haiku Challenge, this poem is about the uncertainty I feel when I think about having children and the ever-pressing reality that a biological clock exists for women. I always imagined having a child with blue eyes like mine, passing down my own favourite physical feature— a reflection and confirmation of kin.

The image is from picture and poem book, “The Witches and Wizards of Oberin,” by Suza Scalora. It was given to me by my Mom as a kid, full of blurry photographs I was obsessed with. I was attracted to the magical, unknown, and anything lush and enchanting…this book encompasses all of that!

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this haiku, you might enjoy these:

sad poetrysurreal poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice 💙✌️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.